PNG Birthday Honours list

GOVERNOR General Bob Dadae has announced the 2017 Queen’s Birthday Honours list.
PNG Birthday Honours list PNG Birthday Honours list PNG Birthday Honours list PNG Birthday Honours list PNG Birthday Honours list

Charles Lepani

Staff Reporter

These are the recipients:
Sang Chung Poh for commerce, community and charity; and Nathaniel Poya for community and business (Knight Bachelor).
Charles Lepani for public service and the Right Reverend Girege Wenge, Lutheran Church (Order of the British Empire)
Betty Papaso, internal revenue commission and Jacob Weis for commerce (Order of Saint Michael and Saint George)
Derek Jepson for commerce and community, Josephine Kiak for education and women, Robert Moore for commerce and community and Don Sawong, judiciary (Commander of the British Empire, CBE).
Pedro Celso, commerce; Emma Faiteli, public service; Daryl Holmes, health; Vele Kagena, agriculture and livestock; James Kendeyagl, local level government and land mediation; Michael Koisen, finance management; Paulius Korni, business and community; Malcolm Lewis, business and community; Ken Mulligan, community; Pus Nui, business and community; Scott O'Reilly, commerce and community; Max Rai, public service; Michael Wheeler, agriculture; Kenankege Wickramaratne, public service (OBE)
Lepokon Andu, village court; Isaac Baikuru, rural healthcare; Colin Benton, agriculture; Regina Boma, general health and women; Michael Butler, rural aviation; Francis Dama, business and community; Ingwai Dire, local government and community; Rosemary Fabian, rural healthcare; Teddy Igu, education and community; Ruth Kange, provincial administration; Reverend Kila Kilarupa, United Church; Dibilngga Kulang, local government, land mediation; Piuk Lasela, church and community, Annette Leva, education; Lus Lolan, community; Simon Mamot, local government; Apakure Mogia, education; Ludger Mond, provincial administration; Peter O'Donohoe, commerce and business training; Arai Pula, public service, Eric Sinbare, public service; Ezekiel Vene, sport and government house; Thomas Yoba, public service; and Brett Young, business and community (MBE)
James Bai, local government and community; Snr Sergeant Dage Dumop, police force;
Margaret Kaile, healthcare; John Kari, rural healthcare; Masa Kia, community; Sebastian Komba, community; Senior Sergeant Fiona Kovingre, Royal PNG Constabulary; Lina Kua, healthcare; Reverend Ravu Magani, United Church; Ellen Mana, rural healthcare; Phillip Meauri, youth development and church; James Mintik, community development; Gilford Nelson, government house; Serah Poiya, public service; Helen Rup, SOE; Dellis Sause, community; Stephen Show, public service; Thomas Taesa, public service; Amos Tami, catholic church; Samson Walizopa, community; Chief Sergeant Jack Wek, Royal PNG Constabulary; and Senior Sergeant Maryanne Yabara, Royal PNG Constabulary (British Empire Medal or BEM).
Royal PNG Constabulary Chief Superintendent Norman Kambou; Superintendent Jim Namora;  and Chief Superintendent Maria Euga (Queen's Police Medial, QPM)
In the military division, awards went to PNG Defence Force members:
Colonel Joseph Ben, CBE; Colonel Silae Diro, OBE; Commander Mozart Vanamos MBE; Chief Warrant Officers Joel Sorigi and Dubbo Yonny; Warrant Officers Joseph Ikime and Karukuru Laho; and James Taule (BEM).


  • Porgera: Barrick-PNG talks go on - Read more
  • Follow the companies investing in the PNG market - Read more