Women in AI Asia-Pacific awards launched

THE 2023 Women in Artificial Intelligence (WAI) Awards, Asia Pacific, are now open for entry.
Women in AI Asia-Pacific awards launched Women in AI Asia-Pacific awards launched Women in AI Asia-Pacific awards launched Women in AI Asia-Pacific awards launched Women in AI Asia-Pacific awards launched

Dr Helen Frazer

Staff Reporter

Organisers say the event is in its third year and now expanding across the Asia-Pacific region, with 18 categories of entry. The awards are open to all women in the AI field based in Australia, New Zealand, or broader Asia-Pacific.
"I'm proud to be involved with the Women in AI organisation. We really want to empower women in AI across the region - either through supporting their studies, advancing their careers, or connecting with opportunities internationally," said Australian WAI ambassador Angela Kim. 
Designed to foster inclusivity and further opportunities for women in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) and AI, the Awards include a prize pool of $A50,000. This includes awards for Innovator of the Year, first and second runner up, the Trailblazer Award and for the first time ever, the Indigenous Leadership in AI Award.
WAI Innovator of the Year for 2022, Dr Helen Frazer said: "I encourage women to apply for the WAI Awards 2023. The awards have provided the opportunity to meet so many amazing women creating such impact with AI and the recognition has opened many new doors."
"It truly has been, and continues to be, an extraordinary experience for me."
WAI Awards driver Andra Müller says the awards are open to all women working, leading, researching, creating or innovating in artificial intelligence in industry, government, universities, research institutes, start-ups and NGOs. 
"To see the stratospheric growth of these awards across the APAC region is testament to the value and mission of WAI - and to the incredible AI community that recognises and rewards the achievements and the relevance of women in the AI industry," Müller said.
The awards will be presented on June 16, 2023, at the Art Gallery of New South Wales; and will be hosted by actor and presenter Julia Zemiro.
Women in AI is a global network of female experts and professionals working in AI, aiming to make the sector more gender inclusive, and to educate and inspire the next generation of female leaders. 
For more detail, or to enter the Awards, visit https://bit.ly/3SbOnnZ
Media inquiries should be directed to Andra Müller at 0400 388 846, or email andra@jewelrock.com.au 


  • Porgera: Barrick-PNG talks go on - Read more
  • Follow the companies investing in the PNG market - Read more

Most read Community